2019-2020 Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar is subject to review and changes.

Last Updated: June 24, 2019

Spring 2019/Summer 2019

Date Event
Thursday, May 2, 2019 First day to apply and pay fees for graduation in December 2019 (without fees) and submit Recommendations
Friday, May 3, 2019 Baccalaureate 6:00 p.m.
Friday, May 3, 2019 Residence Halls Close for Non-Graduating Seniors
Saturday, May 4, 2019 Commencement – Degrees Conferred for Spring Graduates
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Residence Halls Close at 6:00p.m. for Graduating Seniors and Choir Members
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 Faculty Closing Session – Final Grades Due by 5:00 p.m.
Monday, May 20, 2019 First day of Summer School (6 weeks | May 20 – June 28)
Friday, May 24, 2019 Summer School Census Day
Last day to register, add and/or drop a class for Summer School
Last Day to pay Summer School balance in FULL
Purge students that have not paid their Summer School Balances in Full
Monday, May 27, 2019 Memorial Day Holiday – College Closed
Friday, May 31, 2019 Ten-Month Faculty check out

Summer 2019

Date Event
Saturday, June 8, 2019 Fall 2019 Orientation/Registration for New and Transfer Students
Saturday, June 15, 2019 Summer Bridge Move-In Day
Saturday, June 15, 2019 Summer Bridge Parent-Orientation
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Incoming Freshmen Assessment
Monday, June 17, 2019 First Day of Summer Bridge (June 17 – July 24)
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 Last day to receive a grade of -W- for Summer School
Friday, June 21, 2019 Summer Bridge Census Day
Last day to register, add and/or drop a class for Summer Bridge
Last Day to pay Summer Bridge balance in FULL
Purge students that have not paid their Summer Bridge Balances in Full
Friday, June 28, 2019 Last day of classes for Summer School
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 Summer School Grades Due to the Registrar’s Office by 12 noon
Thursday, July 4, 2019 Fourth of July Holiday – College Closed
Friday, July 8, 2019 Faculty/Staff return to work- offices open at 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 Last day to receive a grade of -W- for Summer School
Monday, July 22, 2019 – Tuesday July 23, 2019 Final Exams for Summer Bridge
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Last day of Summer Bridge and Move-Out Day for Summer Bridge
Monday, July 29, 2019 Faculty Return
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 Final Grades due for Summer Bridge due by 12 noon
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 – Friday, August 2, 2019 New Student Orientation

Summer 2019/Fall 2019

Date Event
Thursday, August 1, 2019 Residence Halls open for all students
Thursday, August 1, 2019 – Friday, August 2, 2019 Faculty/Staff Institute
Thursday, August 1, 2019 – Friday, August 2, 2019 Faculty Workdays/Faculty Participation-Freshmen Orientation
Friday, August 2, 2019 Fall 2019 1st-Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (60% of outstanding balance)
Friday, August 2, 2019 – Saturday, August 3, 2019 Fall Registration (one stop shop services)
Monday, August 5, 2019 Last day to register for Senior Seminars I & II (CLAP 4098 & 4099)
Monday, August 5, 2019 First Day of Classes – Traditional/Online
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Late Registration Begins – Fees Apply
Thursday, August 15, 2019 First day to apply and pay fees for graduation in May 2020 and submit Recommendations and Degree Plans
Monday, August 19, 2019 Final day for adding courses for credit or making section changes
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Final day for dropping a course without receiving a -W-
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Fall 2019 Census Day
Last day to register, add and/or drop a class for Summer School
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Final Tuition Payment due for Students that do not have an approved payment plan and made the first payment, 60% of the then outstanding balance.
Purge due to Non-Payment
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Listening and Learning Tour – School of Social Sciences & Humanities
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Last day to submit results for Course Substitution, Waivers, Credit by Examination for meeting degree requirements. Degree Plans/Recommendation for Graduation for all Graduating Seniors 2020
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 First day to drop a course with a fee and receive a -W-
Friday, August 23, 2019 Freshmen Elections
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 President’s Fall Convocation
Thursday, August 29, 2019 Student Organization Fair
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Degrees Conferred for Summer Graduates

Fall 2019

Date Event
Monday, September 2, 2019 Labor Day Holiday – College Closed
Monday, September 2, 2019 Fall 2019 2nd Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (20% of outstanding balance)
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 – Friday, September 6, 2019 See your Advisor Week/Degree Plan Review Week
Robert E. Hayes Lecture Series
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Fall Assessment Training – Non-academic Areas
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Celebrating the Church
Thursday, September 19, 2019 Fall Assessment Training – All Academic Areas
Monday, September 23, 2019 – Wednesday, September 25, 2019 Mid-Semester Exams
Thursday, September 26, 2019 Listening and Learning Tour – School of Sciences and School of Education 11:00 a.m.-noon, Faculty Renewal Room
Friday, September 27, 2019 Midterm Grades due
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 First Day to submit 2020-2021 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 – Friday October 4, 2019 School Assessment Meeting (Academic)
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 Fall 2019 3rd Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (final 20% of outstanding balance)
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 – Thursday, October 31, 2019 Pre-Registration for Spring 2020 and Summer 2020 (see registration schedule)
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 – Friday, October 11, 2019 Divisional Assessment Meeting (Non-Academic)
Friday, October 11, 2019 Last day to drop/withdraw from a course with a -W- and/or withdraw from the College
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Assessment Meeting (Non-Academic Units)
Thursday, October 24, 2019 Assessment Meeting (All Academic Units)
Friday, October 25, 2019 Last day to apply and pay fees for December 2019 Graduates (Late fees apply) Recommendations and Degree Plans due by 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 27, 2019 – Saturday, November 2, 2019 Homecoming Week
Friday, November 1, 2019 Spring 2020 Tuition Payment Due (1st Payment Deadline-60% of balance due)
Friday, November 1, 2019 Last day to remove outstanding grades of -I-
Friday, November 1, 2019 Unit Assessment Plans due to the Associate Vice Provost
Friday, November 15, 2019 Last day of class-Traditional/Online
Monday, November 18, 2019 – Thursday, November 21, 2019 Concentrated Study Period (No student activities, meetings or other events requiring student participation will be scheduled)
Monday, November 18 – Thursday, November 21, 2019 Final Examinations (See Exam Schedule)
Saturday, November 23, 2019 Residence Halls close for Fall Semester
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 Final Grades Due by 12 Noon
Thursday, November 28, 2019 – Friday, November 29, 2019 Thanksgiving Holiday – College Closed
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 -Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Faculty/Staff Workdays
Friday, December 20, 2019 Offices Close at 5:00 p.m.
Monday, December 23, 2019 – Wednesday, January 1, 2020 Christmas/New Year Holidays
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Degrees Conferred for Fall Graduates

Spring 2020

Date Event
Thursday, January 2, 2020 Faculty/Staff return to Campus – Offices open at 8:00 a.m.
Thursday, January 2, 2020 Spring 2020 1st Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (60% of outstanding balance)
Friday, January 3, 2020 Faculty/ Staff Opening Institute
Saturday, January 4, 2020 Residence Halls open for all students
Monday, January 6, 2020 Orientation for new/transfer students and parents
Monday, January 6, 2020 – Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Registration for new, transfer, and continuing students
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 First Day of Class – Traditional/Online
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 Late Registration Fees Apply
Monday, January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King Holiday – College closed
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 – Friday, January 24, 2020 Martin Luther King Week Celebration
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 Student Organization Fair
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Final day for dropping a course without receiving a -W-
Thursday, January 23, 2020 President’s Spring Convocation
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Final day for adding courses for credit or making section changes
Thursday, January 23, 2020 – Sunday, January 26, 2020 Ethical Student Leadership Conference
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Census Day (Official 12th Day of Classes)
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Final Tuition Payment due for Students that do not have an approved payment plan and made the first payment, 60% of the then outstanding balance.
Purge due to Non-Payment
Friday, January 24, 2020 Last day to submit results of Course Substitutions, Waivers, and Credit by Examination to meet degree requirements for May 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020 Last day to order regalia for graduating seniors- May 2019
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 – Thursday, January 30, 2020 Religious Emphasis Week
Observance of Black History Month
Saturday, February 1, 2020 Graduation Clearance Day (for Graduating Seniors only)
Monday, February 3, 2020 Spring 2020 2nd Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (20% of outstanding balance)
Monday, February 3, 2020 – Friday, February 7, 2020 See Your Advisor Week/Degree Plan Review
Friday, February 7, 2020 Last day to apply and pay fees for graduation in May 2020 (without late fee)
Monday, February 10, 2020 – Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Rising Junior Exams
Monday, February 10, 2020 – Monday, March 2, 2020 Pre-Registration for Summer 2020 Session and Fall 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020 – Sunday, February 23, 2020 Men of Strength Week
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 Spring Assessment Training – Non-Academic Areas
Thursday, February 20, 2020 Spring Assessment Training – All Academic Areas
Monday, February 24, 2020 – Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Mid-Semester Exams
Monday, March 2, 2020 Spring 2020 3rd Tuition Payment associated with Approved Payment Plan (final 20% of outstanding balance)
Saturday, March 7, 2020 – Sunday, March 15, 2020 147th Founders’ Week
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 Midterm Grades Due by Noon
Thursday, March 12, 2020 Founders’ Observance Convocation
Monday, March 16 2020 – Friday, March 20, 2020 Women of Excellence Week
Monday, March 16 2020 – Friday, March 20, 2020 Divisional Assessment Meeting (Academic & Non-Academic)
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 Last day to drop/withdraw from a course with a -W- and/or withdraw from the College
Friday, March 20, 2020 Last day to secure financial clearance for students who plan to graduate May 2020 (December and May graduates)
Friday, March 20, 2020 Last day to submit results of CLEP exams to meet requirements for May 2020 graduation (December and May graduates)
Monday, March 23 2020 – Friday, March 27, 2020 Spring Break
Monday, March 30, 2020 Classes Resume
Monday, April 6, 2020 – Friday, April 10, 2020 International Week
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Honors Convocation – 11:00 a.m.
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Assessment Meeting (All Non-Academic Units)
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Social Science & Humanities Symposium
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Assessment Meeting (All Academic Units)
Friday, April 10, 2020 Social Science & Humanities Media Day
Friday, April 10, 2020 All Application submittals for 2021 Graduates
Friday, April 10, 2020 Last Day to remove -I- grade from Fall 2019
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday – College Closed
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday – College Closed
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Classes Resume
Thursday, April 16, 2020 Spring SGA Elections
Thursday, April 16, 2020 List of May 2020 Potential Graduating Seniors for Faculty
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Exit Interviews for Graduating Seniors
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 – Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Final Exams for Graduating Seniors
Friday, April 24, 2020 Post Final grades for Graduating Seniors due by noon
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Last Day of Class for Non-Graduating Traditional/Online Students
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Concentrated Study Period (No student activities, meetings or other events requiring student participation will be scheduled)
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 – Friday, May 1, 2020 Final Exams Non-Graduating Students (See Final Exam Schedule)
Thursday, April 30, 2020 First day to apply and pay fees for graduation in December 2019
(without fees) and submit Recommendations and Degree Plans
Friday, May 1, 2020 Residence Halls Close for Non-Graduating Seniors
Saturday, May 2, 2020 Commencement – Degrees Conferred for Spring Graduates
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Residence Halls Close at 6 PM for Graduating Seniors and Choir Members
Monday, May 4, 2020 Faculty Closing Session – Final Grades Due by Noon
Monday, May 11, 2020 Nine-Month Faculty check out
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 First day of Summer School (6 weeks)
Monday, May 25, 2020 Memorial Day Holiday – College Closed
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 Last day to register, add, and/or drop a class for Summer (6 weeks)
Friday, May 29, 2020 Census Day Summer session
Friday, May 29, 2020 Ten-Month Faculty check out